Polish plum cake

DSC_8586

My hubby came home today with a bag full of plums and got me wondering how I could use all of them without getting into the marmalade making business. My hubby is the fruits buyer in the family and I am lucky to have him taking care of this important task. Funnily we’ve divided subconsciously our roles as far as food shopping is concerned.  I am in charge of the meat, cheese and veggies shelves while he constantly eyes the fruits 🙂

I had some plums for breakfast but it became clear fairly quickly that I had to crank up my oven and bake. Normally I’d go for the upside-down cake but I didn’t feel like it. My quick online research led me to a simple yet mega yummy recipe presented by food writer Ren Behan. She is of Polish decent and shared this family recipe, passed down from mother to daughter.

Let me tell you, this Polish plum cake is a bomb! If you’ve got some Italian prune plums start baking now, you will love its tender texture paired with a right hint of plums’ tartness. Just gorgeous!

Ingredients:

10-12 fresh plums

One cup/200 g granulated sugar

4 large eggs, at room temperature

220 ml vegetable oil

200 ml plain yoghurt

2 heaped cups of plain flour

1 teaspoon of lemon zest

1 package vanilla sugar

1 package baking powder

Powder sugar for dusting (optional)

Pre-heat your oven to 190 C. Grease and dust lightly with flour a 30 cm pan. Chop the plums into halves, remove the stones and set aside. Whisk the eggs and sugar with an electric mixer until the mixture starts to thicken.  Add gradually the oil, vanilla sugar, whisking continually until the mixture is pale and creamy. Add in the lemon zest and yoghurt. Sift the flour and mix with the baking powder. Gently fold the flour into the eggs mixture with a metal spoon until all the flour is fully incorporated. Pour the batter into the pan and gently press the plums into the top. I sprinkled a little sugar on top of each plum to get them caramelized . Bake for 35-40 or until a toothpick inserted in the centre of the cake, comes out clean. Cool for 15-20 minutes before serving.

DSC_8570

I am glad I’ve come across this wonderful family recipe, it will become part of the baking tradition in my family too.

DSC_8580

DSC_8590

Leave a Reply

