Tagliatelle alla Carbonara

Image

Is there anything yummier than luscious Carbonara! I should think not!  It is hard to resist a plate  of tagliatelle  coated in velvety smooth Carbonara sauce. They say Romans are crazy about this dish, well even though I am not an Italian I find it difficult not to love it.  Every ingredient is ultra tasty in its own,  let alone when brought together. An explosion of flavours and ultimate indulgence for me.

DSC_6534

I jumped from joy when I found pancetta in one of the supermarkets in Gjakova yesterday and I knew Carbonara will be on my to-do list today. The recipe I am presenting deviates a bit from the authentic Roma one but hey I told you I am not an Italian and sometimes I like to improvise with my preferred flavours.  Cured pancetta combined with tagliatelle, silky cream and eggs explodes in glorious yumminess  when topped with salty parmigiano. To me this is not an every day dish but rather I-am-sick of dieting-and salads-every-day-and-I feel-indulgent-gimme-some real-food one. If you like to splurge like me from time to time, you may well do it the right way and try this recipe.

Ingredients:

500 g tagliatelle

200 g cubed pancetta or bacon

1 small onion finely chopped

2 eggs

200 g sour cream

150 g grated parmigiano (Parmesan)

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1/2 glass of water

Salt and pepper to taste

First, put a large pan of water with a generous pinch of salt  on to boil for the pasta. In another large pan, which will fit the pasta later, add the olive oil and cook the onion until translucent. Add the pancetta (or bacon) cubes and cook until crispy.

DSC_6542

 When ready take the pan off the heat and set aside. In the meantime you will have had the pasta cooking. In a bowl whisk together the cream and water, then add the eggs and half of the parmesan cheese. Season with little salt and black pepper. Put the pan with the pancetta (or bacon) cubes back on the heat again and add the drained pasta. Toss well quickly and take off the heat again. Let it sit for just a minute. Add the eggs, cream and cheese mixture and toss swiftly everything. It is the heat of the pasta that will heat the eggs and create a creamy sauce. If you keep the pan on the heat however you will end up with scrambled eggs. You do not want that! You want a smooth creamy sauce! If your sauce turns too thick thin with a little water from the cooked pasta.

DSC_6545

Serve at once with parmesan on top, freshly ground black pepper and parsley (optional).

DSC_6551

 

Leave a Reply

