Chicken curry with basmati rice

Image

The weather has been depressing for the last two days. I’ve got used to the hot and dry sunny days last week and already set myself in a summer mood. Then it started raining, the sky is grey and I admit unwillingly that my summerish vibes are drying up quickly. But as always I try to see beauty despite the greyness around and lifted my spirits by photographing my plants, which looked gorgeously beautiful after the rain. Perhaps I could make a post about my other passion-gardening 🙂 Will see.

Feeding my boys always keeps me focused, relaxed and able to re-arrange my thoughts. Oh need I say that I love cooking!

After I screened the fridge and kitchen cabinets I knew what I wanted to do to make us feel better in this cloudy day.

What could be more homey and satisfying than chicken, tell me. It never fails to satisfy your senses with its tender rosy texture and wonderful taste. I wanted to do something a little spicier to infuse the basmati rice with flavour and my mild curry powder came as that best spice to notch the dish. The recipe below serves 4 and I hope you’ll add it to your wish list. As for myself I know I’ll be cooking this again.

Image

Ingredients:

450 g boneless chicken breasts cut into medium sized slices

500 g (a package) of Basmati rice

1 medium onion, finely chopped

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

5 tablespoons of olive oil

1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger

2 tablespoons curry powder

300 ml of unsweetened coconut milk (you can find the recipe for home made coconut milk here: https://zornitsapopova.wordpress.com/2014/06/06/home-made-coconut-milk/

A handful of frozen peas

Salt and pepper to taste

Parsley for garnish (optional)

Season the chicken with salt and pepper. Heat 3 tablespoons of olive oil in a large saucepan and cook the chicken until golden brown. Once ready take it out of the saucepan and set aside.

DSC_5881

Add the remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil and sauté the onion, garlic and ginger over medium heat. Add the coconut milk, whisk in the curry powder and salt to taste. Let the curry simmer and thicken for a 2-3 minutes. Stir in the frozen peas and the chicken pieces, bring to a boil and then reduce the heat to medium.  Let it simmer for 10-12 minutes.

DSC_5891

To prepare the rice, start by washing it first. Make sure there are 3-4 changes of water. Fill a medium saucepan with 4 cups with water (a tea mug is 250 ml), add a pinch of salt, and bring to a boil. Add the rice, stir, and wait until the water comes back to a full boil. When it does, turn the heat down to very low and cook for 10 minutes with the lid on.  After that time let the rice sit for 5 minutes. When about to serve fluff with a fork.

DSC_5880

Serve the curry chicken over the basmati rice, drizzled with a tablespoon of the sauce and garnish with parsley.

DSC_5874

DSC_5883

Leave a Reply

