Lemon bars

Image

What could be more refreshing than these little sunshines, infused with lemon juice and zest and a buttery crust that melts in the mouth! This is my favoured dessert because of its tangy, soft and smooth taste. Oh how I love all things citrus! I am big on lemons and I love the filling quite tangy but if you prefer a milder flavour just add sugar to your taste.

For me this is a typical summertime recipe, everything in it screams sunshine, warmth and dazzling taste. Give it a try and invite summer into your home.

Maybe I need to tell you that today I started the process of making limoncello or more precisely I infused a litter of vodka with the peels of some lemons and let it marry for a month :-). This is how I found myself with 10 peeled lemons, which I decided to use for these lovely bars.

Image

The recipe is adapted from the wonderful blog of David Lebovitz.

Ingredients for a square baking pan- 14×10 1/2 cm

Crust

300 g flour
50g sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
16 tablespoons of  melted unsalted butter
1 sachet vanilla sugar

Lemon filling

4 lemons. Since lemons are being waxed for protection and freshness I washed them thoroughly first. Then I put them in a bowl and poured over a kettle of boiling water and let it sit for 5 minutes.

150 g sugar. Taste while making the filling, if you find it too tangy add sugar

5 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

5 medium-sized eggs at room temperature

5 teaspoons corn starch

A pinch of salt

4 tablespoons melted unsalted butter

Line the baking pan with foil, it will make it easier to remove the bars once baked. Preheat the oven to 190 C. To make the crust combine the flour, sugar, salt, melted butter, vanilla sugar and stir to form a crumbly batter. Spread the batter into the bottom of the pan and smooth it using your hands or a spatula. It needs to be as level as possible.

Image

Bake the crust until golden brown, somewhere between 25-30, mine took 35 minutes.  To make the lemon filling cut the lemons in chunks, remove the seeds and place in your blender. Add the sugar and lemon juice, and let it run until the lemon is completely broken up. Add the eggs, corn starch, salt, and melted butter, and blend until smooth.

Image

David says that “A few tiny bits of lemon pieces are normal and encouraged” and couldn’t agree more 🙂

Once the crust is ready, take it out and reduce the oven temperature to 150 C. Pour the lemon filling over the hot crust and return in the oven for 15-20 minutes. The filling needs to just set and stop jiggling, mine was ready for 15 minutes.

DSC_5674

Cut into bars once it is completely cooled. Just before serving sift powdered sugar on top of the bars.

Image

Oh I am savouring one of those while writing this 🙂

Image

2 thoughts on “Lemon bars

  1. Zo,

    You’re just amazing! I haven’t been here for a while and now I discover dozens of recipes that make me drool… 😉
    I’m happy that you keep being super positive and enthusiastic.
    Hope to hear from you soon my dear!
    Besos,

    Amaia

Leave a Reply

