Caprese salad-my way

Image

I have never met a person who doesn’t love a tomato salad with cheese! Have you?

Perhaps this is the single salad that symbolizes summer with the abundance of vegetables and herbs most. Ripe, gorgeously red tomatoes coupled with a flavourful mildly salty cheese is always a win-win choice as an appetizer. Today was a very hot day here, almost 30 C, and it made me long for the Bulgarian seaside, I imagined myself swimming, frolicking at the beach and feeling the sun kissing my skin. And of course having a meal at one of my favoured tavernas located along the shore. And as practical as dreamy I am 🙂 I decided to recreate that wonderful picture with a meal to treat myself. This is my Caprese salad. Funnily its colours resemble the Bulgarian flag–white, green and red 🙂

I am aware that Caprese is always made with Mozzarella but as I keep telling you some products are simply not available here. Or if available, as the brand of Mozzarella sold in the supermarkets, they are made of vegetable oils and have nothing to do with the original. No, thank you. Besides, for me nothing beats a good chunk of crumbly slightly tangy feta cheese. I am not side-lining Mozzarella at all, I even started contemplating making my own to use it in pizzas and salads. I’ll let you know how it turns 🙂

Image

Image

For a salad for two you will need 2-3 ripe tomatoes, 6 pieces of roundly sliced feta, basil leaves, olive oil for drizzling, salt and pepper to taste. Arrange as per your preference, either the way I did it or in an alternating pattern (a slice of tomato, followed by a slice of feta) on a serving plate. Season with salt and pepper and drizzle with olive oil. I served the salad with whole wheat pita.

Bon appétit!

Image

Image

 

Leave a Reply

