Carrot cake

Image

I haven’t been very active on the blog recently as I was a bit busy with other stuff. I am happy that I have my mum and dad with me now. They arrived in Kosovo from Bulgaria to be with us and celebrate Easter. We’be been cooking a lot, as Easter is quite of a food affair according to the Bulgarian tradition. I was very delighted to have mum cooking for me in my Kosovo kitchen, which brought back my sweet childhood memories.

My mum is an excellent cook by the way and she is crazy about sweets 🙂 She has some pretty cool cake recipes, which will be shared in this blog soon. Knowing she has this sweet tooth,  I wanted to surprise her with something new that she hasn’t tried yet and I thought baking my fave carrot cake would be a lovely treat for her.

Not only she absolutely loved the cake but she also wrote the recipe down to make it for her friends in Bulgaria. My dad just said that the cake was superb 🙂

Carrot cake is casual but if you decide to play a bit with the frosting the result will be spectacular as the cake turns moist, tasty and very presentable.

Ingredients:

260 grams all-purpose flour

4 large eggs

240 ml sunflower oil

250 g granulated white sugar

300 grams raw grated carrots

100 grams chopped walnuts

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 sachet baking powder

1 sachet vanilla sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

Frosting:

500 ml cream, I used sweetened cream for whipping

1 teaspoon lemon zest

First peel and grate the carrots and preheat the oven to 180 C.

In a bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. In another bowl beat the eggs with a hand mixer, gradually adding the sugar mixing for about 3-4 minutes. Add the oil in a steady stream and then beat in the vanilla sugar. Add the flour mixture and beat just until incorporated. With a rubber spatula fold in the grated carrots and chopped nuts. Evenly divide the batter into two baking pans and bake for 40 -45 minutes in the preheated oven. The best way to check whether the cake is ready is to insert a toothpick in the centre, if it comes out clean the cake is ready.  Cool the cakes completely before frosting them with the whipped cream. Adding a bit of lemon zest gives the cream a nice citrus kick.

Image

I also decided to decorate the cake with a variation of croquant. To make it just have some sugar melted to caramel consistency and spread it randomly on parchment paper to form some figures. When cooled just chop the figures and decorate as per your taste.

 

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

