Irish soda bread

Image

I started to prepare lunch this morning, then realized there is no bread in the house. I hate it when I have to stop doing something and run to the supermarket instead. At the same time my son got up late and began looking curiously around the kitchen, sticking his head in the fridge and the pantry, asking me what’s for breakfast. Well, I thought lunch can wait. I am going to make Irish soda bread! It has been long due in my list of breads I’d love to do and since there was a hungry boy waiting for me, I thought now or never. I am so in love with all things Irish, to the point that I gave my son an Irish name-Patrick but I’ve never attempted to make some Irish specialities. My bubbliness almost froze when I looked at http://allrecipes.com/recipe/moms-irish-soda-bread/  and saw that Irish soda bread needed buttermilk. Oh no, again, I thought, I am going to deal with lack of ingredients and limitations. No shopping please! My quick research however led me to some advise what buttermilk could be substituted with. Yeyyy, I am becoming the queen of substitutions ;-)! Here is how to do it  http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-a-quick-easy-buttermilk-substitute-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-185757 

The ladies from Kitchn are fantastic, they have ideas for just about everything!. When you get the buttermilk ready separate a 1 tablespoon of it and set aside.

Ingredients:

300 ml buttermilk

100 g butter, melted

5 cups of all purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 egg

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 sachet baking powder

Raisins- optional. I do not like raisins in my bread and omitted them.

Preheat the oven to 180 C. Whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda in a bowl. Make a well in the flour and pour the melted butter, stir to create coarse crumbs. Whisk separately the egg and the buttermilk and add to the mixture. With the help of a wooden spoon or with your hands mix the ingredients so that a soft dough is formed. Shape it into a ball but do not overwork the dough, just form it gently into a round, slightly domed loaf. Place in a pan covered with parchment paper lightly sprinkled with flour. With a sharp knife cut two criss-crossing lines through the centre of the loaf, brush it thoroughly with the spoon of buttermilk, which was set aside, mixed with a tablespoon of melted butter. I couldn’t resist adding more butter 🙂

Image

Bake for 55 minutes to 1 hour or until the loaf is golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean. Cool on a rack (if you manage not to snap up a piece while still hot :-)! Your kitchen will smell absolutely heavenly!) and serve with butter.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

