Tiramisu

Image

Do you remember “Sleepless in Seattle” movie? The dialogue (courtesy of imdb.com) goes like this:

 Jay is helping Sam get back into the dating scene.

Sam Baldwin: What is “tiramisu”?

Jay: You’ll find out.

Sam Baldwin: Well, what is it?

Jay: You’ll see!

Sam Baldwin: Some woman is gonna want me to do it to her and I’m not gonna know what it is!

Sam seemed a bit lost about tiramisu 🙂 but I am not. I know pretty well what tiramisu is and I always loved it. No wonder tiramisu in Italian means “pick me up” or “lift me up”, and it really is that lifting with its creamy texture and rich coffee/cocoa flavour. Oh I love the simplicity of Italian recipes, simple ingredients turned into gorgeous comfort food. You will love how quickly you will put the tiramisu together but for best results leave it in the fridge over night. This way you will have a glorious blend of cocoa, coffee, and mascarpone flavours.

I made this tiramisu for my son’s birthday and he absolutely loved it. So did I and my hubby. And I promised them I’ll make tiramisu more often 🙂

The original Italian recipe calls for raw egg yolks and whites. I am not big on raw eggs and decided to skip that. Probably the flavour would have been richer with eggs but I liked my tiramisu the way I made it.

Ingredients:

300 g ladyfingers. I used a 500 g pack of Sweet Italy Savoiardi. 2 packages remained unused so buy a smaller pack.

250 g mascarpone cheese at room temperature

250 ml cream

100 g sugar. You can add more sugar as per your taste. I like my tiramisu not very sweet

1 sachet vanilla sugar

350 ml strong coffee, cooled. I used Nescafe.

2 tablespoons of dark rum

2 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder

Image

Whip the cream and sugar until it thickens and let in the fridge to keep it stiffer. Mix the coffee and the rum and set aside. In another bowl cream together the mascarpone and the vanilla sugar. Fold in carefully the whipped cream to the mascarpone mixture, blend it well using a spatula but do not over mix.

To assemble the tiramisu you will need a square baking pan, mine is 14×10 1/2 cm. Dip each ladyfinger into the coffee mixture and place them at the bottom of your pan, covering it completely. Take care not to soak the ladyfingers for too long as they disintegrate quickly. Spread evenly half of the mascarpone/cream mixture on top of the ladyfingers and sprinkle with 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder using a sifter.

Image

Add another layer of dipped in coffee ladyfingers and cover with the remaining mascarpone cream. Place in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours or ideally overnight.  A trick I learned from the mega talented cook Marco Pierre White is not to sprinkle the tiramisu with cocoa powder until two hours before serving; otherwise the cocoa will melt and create a chocolaty mess.

Image

I hope tiramisu will make you as happy as it has made me and my family :-).We’re were “lifted up” indeed!

I’d love to hear from you if you decide to give it a try and please share your impressions.

 

Leave a Reply

