Easy lunch-Chicken drumsticks with mushrooms

Image

I’ve been gardening this morning. Every spring I look forward to planting some of my favourite plants and admire them blossoming later into the summer months. I have a small garden but it always surprises me with a faerie fusion of colours and scents. This gives me enormous pleasure, in fact I have my zen moments when I look after my plants. But today except the lovely lavender (which reminds me of the beautiful island of Hvar, Croatia) I planted kitchen herbs. Nothing beats fresh thyme or basil on tender chicken breasts, pizza or pasta. I also planted mint and I cant wait to have it grown so I can use it for my smoothies or desserts. I will keep you updated how my herbs planting adventure evolves 🙂

So amidst planting pots, compost, water-soaked feet and hands roughened by the soil I needed to eat. I was starving and after a quick screening of my fridge it hit me that I could make my mum’s signature dish- chicken with mushrooms. I always loved it as a child, my mum would do it either with mushrooms or potatoes or alternating the chicken with pork tenderloin. And it was glorious every time–buttery and hearty. Easy and quick you will love it!

Ingredients

5-6 chicken drumsticks

250 g mushrooms chopped

3-4 gloves garlic

3 full tablespoons of butter

3 tablespoons of olive oil

200 ml chicken stock. I substituted with chicken stock cubes dissolved in water.

Salt and pepper to taste

Parsley

In a large skillet melt the butter together with the olive oil over medium-low heat. Add the seasoned with salt and pepper chicken drumsticks and cook for about 5-7 minutes until golden-brown. Flip the drumsticks to have them cooked on the other side for additional 5-7 minutes.

DSC_2765 See how beautiful these are?!

DSC_2775

Remove the chicken drumsticks using tongs and set aside. Add the mushrooms and the whole garlic cloves and cook until the mushrooms become slightly browned. Season with salt and pepper. They will coat with the juices of the meat and the butter. You will love the aroma, its simply mouth-watering!

Place the chicken drumsticks on the bottom of a Dutch oven pot (you can use a simple pan and have it covered with foil for the first 30 minutes of cooking), spread the mushrooms and garlic around them and add the stock. Season again if needed and add the parsley.

Cover with the lid and put in a preheated to 230 C oven.

Image

Cook for 30 minutes with the lid on and 30 without it. Since everybody’s oven is different cook for additional 15 minutes if you deem necessary. The chicken-mushrooms-garlic sauce is sensational, use it to flavour your side dish–pilaf or mashed potatoes. I garnished with juliennes of blanched zucchini and carrots.

It was a good day today, herbs were planted, lunch was mega yummy and I even managed to take pictures of it before my hubby and I dived in 🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

