Chocolate decadence or how I overcame my fear of baking

Image

Let me tell you–I started baking cakes and other sweets only recently. For a looong period I was thinking I was no good at baking. I was afraid even! Yes, afraid, thinking my cakes will turn flat, tasteless and disappointing. I would knead breads day in and day out but cakes…I dreaded them! You see,  I limited myself with fears and lack of confidence…I would have continued going on like this if it wasn’t for an accidental stop at a place that mesmerized me! I found a food blog! Bless http://www.davidlebovitz.com/! I got so inspired that I thought to myself-come on Zornitsa, give it a try, its not that scary!  Next I was running to the shop to buy the ingredients and the baking pans 🙂

So today I am sharing the recipe of a cake that helped me overcome my insecurities about baking. I am a self-confessed choco addict. In fact, this is the one and only sweet treat that lifts me and makes me happy. This cake is dark, decadent, moist and so satisfying that I am sure you will return to it many many times.

 Devil’s Food Cake (as adapted from David Lebovitz recipe)

Cake batter:

9 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

½ cups plain flour

A pinch of salt

1 package baking powder

120 grams of unsalted butter at room temperature

1½ cups granulated sugar

2 large eggs at room temperature

½ cup strong coffee. I used Nestle instant coffee

½ cup  milk. I used whole milk

Ganache frosting:
200 grams of chopped unsweetened chocolate ( I used the locally available brands of baking chocolates)

1 (80 grams) of chopped milk chocolate

½ cup water or cream. I used water and it was OK.

170 grams of unsalted butter

Preheat the oven to 180 C fixing the rack in the centre. In a bowl sift together the flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking powder.

In another bowl beat together with a mixer the butter and sugar for about 5 minutes until the mixture is smooth and creamy. Add the eggs one at a time until fully incorporated. In the meantime mix together the coffee and milk. Stir half of the flour mixture into the butter then add the coffee and milk. Finally stir in the other half of the flour. Divide the batter into two buttered and covered with parchment paper cake pans (23 x 5 cm). Bake for about (every oven is different) 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean. After 5 minutes of coming out of the oven release the cake layers from the pans and parchment paper and let them cool completely before frosting.

To make the ganache melt the chopped chocolate with the water (or cream) in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water, stirring occasionally until melted. Remove the bowl from the water and add the butter (cut into small pieces) to the chocolate, whisk well until the butter has melted completely and the ganache is smooth and velvety. The frosting needs to be cooled at room temperature( I left it for 2 and 1/2 hours) in order to be spreadable.

Lay one of the cake layers on a cake plate and spread a generous amount of ganache over it. Put on top the other layer and decorate the cake with the help of a spatula going back and forth. I like rustic somewhat shabby looking cakes so I didn’t strive to make the frosting look perfect. I just ran a fork into it to make some (unidentified :-)) figures. But you could get fancy with the decoration and come up with your own ideas.

I hope you will enjoy this choco decadence as much as I did 🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

