Marvelously easy and delicious lemon muffins

Image

I was expecting a special guest the other day and while my choco cake was in the making, I laid my eyes on the gloriously yellow lemons on my counter and it hit me—why not improvise and make some lemon muffins!

Did I tell you, I like everything about lemons!  Their color, the bright mood they bring on a grim day, their taste and how beautifully they improve the flavor of both sweet and savory dishes.

The recipe below is my complete improvisation but trust me it turns just perfect. If you like your muffins with a moist, sponge like texture coupled with a splendid lemon zest flavor, then this recipe is for you.

There is secret though…. I always found that butter-based batters turn somehow dry and hard the next day. These muffins combine both butter and vegetable oil to preserve the moist and have them equally tasty the next day, or days.  Days? Oh they lasted exactly 2 days in my home…all 18 of them!

The muffins are easy and quick to make and if you top them with a frosting upon your choice I am sure you will impress your guests or just please your family.  These muffins could also be ideal for a children’s party, no fuss- just sweet golden bites to treat the kids.

Ingredients:

2 ½ cups (1 cup- 250 grams) flour

100 g butter

50 ml vegetable oil

1 package baking powder

200 grams granulated white sugar

2 large eggs

Zest and juice of one lemon

180 ml sour cream. I used one of those sold in Kosovo- Schmand, which I diluted with a little water to turn in into liquid.

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preparation

Preheat the oven to 200 C degrees with its rack placed in the center.

Prepare your muffin pan and/or muffin forms. I have one of those silicone forms, which serve me very well and I don’t butter the. But if you have metallic muffin pans butter them lightly (with margarine, oil or butter).

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour with the baking powder.  In another bowl beat with a mixer the butter and sugar until fluffy, then gradually add the oil. Beat in the eggs, one at a time.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl as needed. Beat in the lemon zest and juice, sour cream, and vanilla extract until blended well. Stir in the flour mixture just until moistened. Do not over mix. The batter should not be overly thick but if very thin add a little flour.

Spoon the batter just a little above the half of the muffin forms. Bake for about 25-30 minutes until golden or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean.  Let the muffins cool for about five minutes before removing from the forms.

I prepared the frosting with unsweetened sour cream to which I added powder sugar and vanilla extract.  I beat it with a mixer until thick and let it cool in the fridge for about 15 minutes before frosting. But the locally sold Slag could also do perfectly. This frosting is optional and you can play with it as per your taste and ingredients available.

So I hope you try my muffins a la cupcakes style 🙂 and let me know how they turned.

Image

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “Marvelously easy and delicious lemon muffins

Leave a Reply

